Reincarnating the Not-So-Travel-Blog

I’m back.

Well, I hope to be.

After several attempts to maintain an updated travel blog, I think I shall have to give up on the idea. The thought of writing a travel blog feels, surprisingly, too constrained for me. It’s true that I love travel, and that in the past year I’ve made it a priority in my life. I’ve visited 13 new countries, completed a CELTA course in Budapest, spent time at home in the States with family, moved to a new-to-me country, met tons of new international friends, and become a new person. Travel is now a critical part of my life and personality.

But travel is not the only thing I love, nor is it the only thing I want to share with people.

I’ve been a bookworm all my life, and a book blogger for four years. I’m an aspiring writer–or I’d like to be, but it’s difficult to call myself one with conviction when I haven’t written in months. I’m an educator. I’m more.

I’m multifaceted, and I want a writing outlet that can reflect that.

Peljesac Peninsula, Croatia, July 2015.

Peljesac Peninsula, Croatia, July 2015.

I was going to accompany this post with a new blog URL address (another one, Steph? Told you I can’t make up my mind). But the one I’ve been thinking of for the past several months is, frustratingly, already taken. So I shall have to think about that more, but in the meantime I still want to start blogging again.

So here are some of the things I will be writing about here:

Wordless Wednesdays – To encourage me to explore my new home (oh, that’s right, I’m living in Hanoi, Vietnam now! Forgot to tell you that) through my camera lens.

Flashback Fridays – Pictures and/or stories of my previous travels. I have yet to review all of the thousands of pictures I took in these past 2-3 years of travel, and I hope this will stir me into action.

Bookish Thoughts – I may have stepped away from my book blogger days, but I’m forever a reader. I don’t want to give up writing about books forever, so these posts will be a way for me to reflect on my reads.

Bookish Travels – Visits to beautiful libraries and bookstores kind of became my modus operandi when I was traveling through Europe earlier this year. I’m going to merge my two passions into one blog feature and see where the combination takes me!

Travel tales catch-up – I’ve started some posts about my adventures that I never finished. I still want to share them, though.

Life in Hanoi as an EFL Teacher – I would be remiss if I didn’t talk about my new life in Hanoi: the ups and downs; the differences between Hanoi and other places I’ve lived; what I’m loving about Vietnam; thoughts on TEFL; etc.

Your comments make my day. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feedback with me!

